Alternatives to A&E

25 Feb

Some thoughts on alternatives to A&E.

(This is what passes for a blog post these days. You’ve got to work with what you’ve got, and it seems what I’ve got is 140 characters. So I’ll park these tweets here – mine and those of the lovely twitter people – and perhaps one day write them up.)

.

.

.

3 Responses to “Alternatives to A&E”

  1. jill 26 February 2016 at 10:39 am #

    Would be good for ppl with mild mental health problems- sad, personality issues etc. Ideally run by SUs. Leave ppl with SMI to statutory services. Would mean better service for both groups.

  2. J 27 February 2016 at 7:27 am #

    I have severe m h probs yet the idea of somewhere like this really appeals and as such I’ve been working hard to set something up in my area. But, getting funding was hard. Had a venue and didn’t need a lot of money. My m h trust is pretty backward in forward thinking but the idea of a cafe has to quote ‘gathered momentum’ as the evidence is mounting that these havens work. So coming soon I hope is our version of a Safe Haven tacked on to the Recovery College funding pot.

    I’ve been talking with my local ambulance service about mental health in general and in another county they cover there is already a cafe which they do use where appropriate but that is the tricky bit ‘where appropriate’. There was a case recently where an ambulance dropped off someone’s dad at a cafe and I think he killed himself.

    But A&E is really not the right place to me when I’m distressed. Last week I was distressed but there for a physical problem. I get panic attacks in waiting rooms so I stood outside for 2 hours in the cold looking at the multi storey car park opposite. A place where I’ve had a few difficult moments when legging it from a busy A&E because it was the right place for me.

    In my books an alternative to our local crisis team who are rubbish particularly overnight would be great. Face to face is always good.

  3. Jade Burrell 7 April 2016 at 8:28 pm #

    Where I think the future of Mental Health crisis services is here: Safe Haven in Aldershot, which is a supportive cafe for people in crisis. I think people could benefit a lot from places like this.

    http://www.sabp.nhs.uk/gpnews/surrey-heath/spring2014/service-developments/new-out-of-hours-safe-haven-in-aldershot-for-people-with-mental-health-problems

Leave a Reply

