It’s okay to ask for help. Yes, but what if there isn’t any?

12 Aug

It is okay to ask for help Mind Charity

It’s okay to ask for help, as today’s Mind charity tweet says. However, it is NOT okay to have to ask again and again and still not get appropriate and timely help – or any help at all.

Thoughts exploring the theme of lack of actual help available for mental health problems, whether or not you’re able to ask.

(To be expanded into a written blog post when I have time.)

.

.

4 Responses to “It’s okay to ask for help. Yes, but what if there isn’t any?”

  1. Quinonostante 13 August 2014 at 10:53 am #

    Reblogged this on Mentally Wealthy.

    • Nicola Lane 19 August 2014 at 12:00 pm #

      It is probably an extreme way to go about it, but this approach did work for me. After what felt like everyone (and thier dog) had assessed me and decided that although I needed help they couldn;t give it me (Usually becasue I have Aspergers, Adhd and depression). Eventually I rang up the person in charge of mental health commissioning for my local CCG and said “Get me some help – or explain to the coroner why you didn’t”

      Six months later I am on the care plan approach. If nothing else work threats and bullkying back at them seems to!

      • Ed 28 August 2014 at 12:05 pm #

        Good on you. Really, good on you. I’m not sure if I would of been able to do that.

        I have a partner who’s able to pay for private treatment, so I’m very lucky.

  2. A journey through Wonderland 3 March 2016 at 6:22 pm #

    Reblogged this on A journey through Wonderland and commented:
    My thoughts exactly. Links in to yesterday’s blog post from me “you’re in a pile”
    Sometimes asking gets old and when it gets to the point you feel you’re nagging you don’t want to ask anymore..
    This is worth a read and definitely worth a reblog/share.

Leave a Reply

