Will these tablets turn me into a zombie …?

19 Dec

Dopamine Diva butterfly

Here’s a link to an hilarious conversation I had with Dopamine Diva, who tweets as @Dopamine_Diva and describes herself as, “Mildly eccentric psychiatrist. Not always completely euthymic myself. I like chocolate, knitting and rock music.”

The photo on the left is her Twitter pic.

Dopamine Diva says she’s frequently asked, “Will these tablets turn me into a zombie?” “To which I reply, ‘No. My aim is to get you well and doing the things you want to do. If they make you sleepy, I’ll change them’.

“However I’d prefer to say, ‘Yes. Yes they will. It will be awesome, and we can see if the hospital’s Zombie Plan is any good.'”

Which still makes me laugh every time I read it.

Here’s a link to a Storify story of the original tweets. Well worth reading if you want a belly laugh.

Of course the flip side to the story is that commonly prescribed psychiatric medications like antipsychotics can be highly sedating. That’s why they’re prescribed for insomnia. And (because of their weight gain properties) also for anorexia. And becoming a fat zombie isn’t so funny after all.

.
.

2 Responses to “Will these tablets turn me into a zombie …?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Will these tablets turn me into a zombie …? « Confused & Bewildered - 19 December 2012

    […] Will these tablets turn me into a zombie …?. […]

  2. Psychiatrist humour: dime store psychiatry « Sectioned - 3 January 2013

    […] with Dopamine Diva posted in December (who revealed what she’d really like to say when asked, “Will these tablets turn me into a zombie …?”), here’s are some funny tweets from US psychiatrist Satirical Shrink […]

Leave a Reply

