What advice would you give someone recently discharged from psychiatric hospital?

31 Jan

Image

What advice would you give to a patient who’s recently been discharged from psychiatric hospital? What would you have wanted to know when you first came out? I was asked these questions yesterday evening by someone I’d known for a long time, someone who’d visited me on ward 2 years ago and thought I might be able to help someone who’d come to them in despair.

The woman had recently been discharged from a mental health ward in the hospital where I’d been detained.  She was angry. Her world had falled apart. Her marriage had fallen apart. She was appalled by her treatment on ward. She wanted the hospital to hear what she had to say about her care, to know it was wrong. She wanted to meet with people who would know, through shared experience, what she had been through. Would I meet with her face to face to offer advice and support.

When I got home I sent this series of tweets which sets out my reaction to the question. I’ve also added in the responses of other tweeps, and there’s some good advice in there so take a look. Read the tweets to see my gut reaction at the time, or read on for a slightly edited version (tidied up from yesterday’s stream of consciousness), including my 10 tips.

.

Open quotes“Will you meet a woman who’s just been discharged from psychiatric hospital?” I was asked. “She’s so traumatised by the experience.  Her  world has fallen apart. She doesn’t know where to turn. She feels so angry about the experience.” More details were given about her difficult circumstances and how she wanted to make a complaint to the hospital but didn’t know how to do so or where to turn. “Can you meet her?”

“No,” I said. “No, I can’t meet her. I’m still too traumatised myself to take on someone else’s pain. I have to take care of myself first.” Her experience in late 2012 seems similar to mine in 2011. So nothing has changed. The hospital hasn’t changed, despite a programme of improvements to the physical environment. The culture hasn’t changed. Same leaders. Same nurses. Same bullying, abuse and poor care. I don’t want to relive it with someone else who’s suffered in similar ways to me, nearly two years later.

“Did you know,” I said, “that I was discharged requiring treatment for harm inflicted on ward? For mental trauma and a physical injury? That I’m being treated for PTSD from the ward experience? And I’m being treated by a physiotherapist for a restraint injury?” The trauma of being held in seclusion, forcibly treated, repeatedly restrained, yanked around by my arm by a bully nurse, has left scars that still need help to heal. I’m still vulnerable.

“Did you know,” I said, “that, when I raised a sample complaint with the hospital, I was disbelieved and blamed?” Which felt like being assaulted a second time. Making a complaint made me feel worse, not better. Much, much worse. I don’t want to go through that process again with someone else.

“Did you know,” I said, “that I have to measure carefully how I use my brain? To flex & strengthen the mental muscles but be careful to not stress or weaken them. Did you know,” I said, “that, although I tweeted all day about the Mental Health Act report, I’m not going to read it?” It would be too harrowing for me to read about others’ difficult experiences on ward. To read about forced treatment, restraint, seclusion, lack of care as being far too common an experience on ward. I look like I’m coping, but that’s because I’m practised at measuring out my energy so I can hold it together in public when I need to.

So no. No I won’t meet them. No I won’t offer support or comfort. Right now, for me, I want to meet happy people. To smile and laugh. To rest my brain. To enjoy life. To put clear blue water between me and the hospital experience. Having caring responsibilities before contributed to me landing up in hospital before. I can’t take on someone new to care for.
.
“But,” I said, “I can give you some advice to pass on. Some things I would have wanted to know when I was discharged. That will still be some help.” Here are the tips I passed on:
.
  1. It’s good to have someone on your side. If you’re within 8 weeks of discharge, the ward IMHA should be able to help you make a complaint or get your voice heard. They know the ropes. Even if the ward IMHA can’t help you, your local branch of a mental health charity like Mind, Rethink or Sane may have advocates who can help you be heard.
  2. PALS can also help you if you feel you’ve received poor care on ward.
  3. If you feel like you want to be heard, that’s different from making a complaint. Hospitals will have a procedure to help you be heard, outside of a formal complaints procedure, and that may be a better option for you.
  4. If you’re thinking about making a complaint, what end result do you want to achieve? What do you want to get out of it? Do you want “justice” and, if so, what would that look like to you? Do you want to get an apology? Do you want financial compensation? Do you want a review of procedures? It’s helpful to have an outcome in mind before starting the complaints process, to ensure it’s worthwhile going through it.
  5. If you want to make a complaint, are you up to it at this time? As the saying goes, you cannot break concrete with a feather. Organisations can become defensive in the face of complaints. They can fight back. Is that something you want to deal with now? Weigh up the costs to you of doing so.
  6. If you want to make a complaint, can you achieve the end result you desire by some other means? For instance, you can report poor care or abuse – anonymously or using your name – though the Care Quality Commission. They can send an inspector to the hospital or ward to check on care. That might lead to improved care for others in future.
  7. If what you want is to know that you’re not alone, that there are others who share your difficult experiences, then one place to start is yesterday’s Care Quality Commission annual report on the care of patients under the Mental Health Act (voluntary and sectioned patients, and those under CTOs).
  8. Don’t focus exclusively on the negatives of your hospital experience but make sure you also do positive things. For instance, find out what support services are available in the area which play to your strengths or develop new ones – eg art, creativity, music.
  9. People you’ve met on ward can be a valuable support. They were there with you. They know what it was like. They’ll know what you mean when you talk about what happened. But also mix with people who nurture your sense of funClose quotes and make you smile.
  10. Consider returning to the ward and thanking the staff who helped you, then walking away. Doing this helped one of my ward buddies to draw a line under the experience and move on.

.

These are my tips, off the cuff last night. But what advice would you give to someone who’s just been discharged from a psychiatric ward? What would you have wanted to know? Please comment below.

.

.

web links 5

  •  Storify story of tweets I sent together with responses of others – some great advice in there from other tweeps, so take a look
  • Some tips from Wardipedia (the resource for inpatient psychiatric staff) of things to think about when planning for discharge, but a useful to do list post-discharge too
  • Link to the Care Quality Commission‘s website where you can report poor care or abuse
  • The CQC’s most recent report into the care of patients under the Mental Health Act – voluntary and sectioned patients (and those under CTOs)

.

.

3 Responses to “What advice would you give someone recently discharged from psychiatric hospital?”

  1. Diane 31 January 2013 at 6:22 pm #

    Speaking as a CPN, most of all please try to remember that not all experiences are negative, and some of us are there to help. Be honest and open about what you want and how you are feeling, and keep the lines of communication open so you and whoever you are working with are genuinely working together. Above all, be positive, it will get better.

    • Sectioned 31 January 2013 at 10:30 pm #

      That’s good advice, thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Restraint – 10 ways it harms psychiatric patients | Sectioned - 19 June 2013

    […] been asked if I’ve complained about the restraints I was subjected to. See here and here for a partial […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

